Beethoven          Violin Concerto 
Unsuk Chin         Subito con forza
Schumann           Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, ‘Rhenish’

Tobias Feldmann Violin 
David Afkham Conductor
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Beethoven’s power to inspire composers and performers never dims. The German violinist Tobias Feldmann’s interpretation of the composer has been praised for its “rapturous, unspotted lyricism” and here he replaces the previously-advertised Veronika Eberle in Beethoven’s Violin Concerto under the baton of David Afkham. Unsuk Chin has also fallen under Beethoven’s spell: he’s the inspiration for her freshly-minted 'Subito con forza', which receives its UK Premiere at this summer’s BBC Proms. There’s no denying that Robert Schumann’s Third Symphony bears the stamp of Ludwig’s innovations too - but it has a sweep and panache all of its own, as it conjures vistas of Cologne Cathedral and the Rhineland.

Access Info

Please contact the box office by emailing in order to book wheelchair spaces and disabled companion places.

Age Restriction

Under 16's must be accompanied by an adult 18+