JS Bach Es ist genug (Chorale from Cantata BWV 60)  (c.2 mins)
Magnus Lindberg Chorale  (c.6 mins)
Sibelius Violin Concerto  (c.35 mins)
Beethoven Overture: Leonore No.3  (c.14 mins)
Sibelius Symphony No.7  (c.24 mins)

Pekka Kuusisto violin
Joana Carneiro conductor

Welcome back to live concerts at the Usher Hall with the BBC SSO. And who else would we play but Sibelius, with whom the orchestra has long been associated. His extraordinary one-movement Seventh Symphony is the climax of an afternoon that pairs the composer with fellow Finns: violin maverick Pekka Kuusisto and composer Magnus Lindberg. Expect sparks to fly in the Sibelius Violin Concerto and Lindberg’s Chorale is preceded by part of the work that inspired it, Bach’s Es ist genug. Plus, conductor Joana Carneiro finds room for Beethoven’s stirring Leonore No.3 Overture, a passionate hymn to liberty that never seems to lose its relevance.

COVID Entry requirements

A COVID Vaccination Certificate is not required for this event.

This information is subject to change in government advice/legislation. Please check this information before attending in case advice has changed.

We recommend you take a lateral flow test before attending.

More information about visiting the Usher Hall



Access Info

Please contact the box office by emailing customer.enquiries@usherhall.co.uk in order to book wheelchair spaces and disabled companion places.

Age Restriction

Under 16's must be accompanied by an adult 18+