Lawrence Foster Conductor
Szymon Nehring Piano

A savage fanfare blasts out, but for Tchaikovsky this wasn’t just music but the sound of Fate itself. His Fourth Symphony tells the story of his emotional struggle – an electrifying showcase for the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra, visiting Scotland as part of our year-long celebration of Polish culture. Naturally, they’re playing Chopin, with the award-winning Szymon Nehring on piano. But they’re also bringing Elgar’s stormy musical salute to a war-torn Poland, 110 years after Elgar himself conducted the RSNO. 

Elgar                   Polonia 
Chopin                Piano Concerto No2 
Tchaikovsky        Symphony No4 

Event Cancelled | Click for further details

Please see the following statement from the Promoter:

“We are very sorry to announce that due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic the scheduled Polish National Radio Symphony concert on the 5th March 2021 has been cancelled.

We appreciate that this decision will come as a disappointment and we apologise for any inconvenience this will cause. Ultimately we have a responsibility to protect the well-being of the Orchestra, Staff and you the Audience.

The Orchestra hope to perform at Usher Hall in a future year once touring becomes feasible again.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.”


Access information

Please contact the box office on 0131 228 1155 regarding booking wheelchair spaces and disabled companion places.

Age Restriction

Under 16's must be accompanied by an adult 18+