Copland Appalachian Spring

Price Violin Concerto No2

Sibelius Symphony No1


Kristiina Poska Conductor

Rachel Barton Pine Violin


’Tis the gift to be simple: Aaron Copland knew a great tune when he heard one and that old American hymn strides confidently through the closing bars of Appalachian Spring. This concert is all about strong emotions and new beginnings as the incredible American violinist Rachel Barton Pine rediscovers the music of African American composer Florence Price, and conductor Kristiina Poska ventures into the snowy forests of the young Sibelius’ majestically passionate First Symphony.