Holmès                La Nuit et l'Amour, Interlude from Ludus pro Patria 
Mark Simpson     Violin Concerto 
Berlioz                 Symphonie fantastique

"Fantastique by name, fantastic by nature! When Hector Berlioz couldn’t win the girl of his dreams he poured all his unrequited passion into this opium-fuelled extravaganza for a super-sized orchestra. There’s nothing quite like it – but equally there’s nothing quite like the passionate, neglected music of his French contemporary Augusta Holmès or Mark Simpson’s flamboyant, sensuous new Violin Concerto, especially when performed by the one and only Nicola Benedetti. 

Fabien Gabel     Conductor
Nicola Benedetti     Violin
Royal Scottish National Orchestra 

Supported by the Ambache Charitable Trust, which raises the profile of music by women."