Shostakovich    Suite from Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk
Shostakovich    Piano Concerto No2 
Shostakovich    Symphony No5 
"Shostakovich wrote his Fifth Symphony in terror for his life and gave it the title ‘A Soviet artist’s response to justified criticism’. But the music tells another story: of fear, resistance and unbreakable courage. James Conlon explores the many faces of a 20th century genius – joining the phenomenal Simon Trpčeski in the delightful Concerto that Shostakovich wrote for his teenage son, and unleashing the raw satirical energy of Lady Macbeth: music so outrageous that Stalin had it banned. 

Andrey Boreyko*   Conductor

Simon Trpčeski     Piano

Royal Scottish National Orchestra  

*Conductor James Conlon has had to withdraw from conducting this concert. In his place, Andrey Boreyko will conduct without changes to the repertoire. (22/4/22)