BRITTEN Simple Symphony
SHOSTAKOVICH Cello Concerto No 2
BEETHOVEN Symphony No 5 in C minor

Mark Wigglesworth Conductor
Laura van der Heijden Cello

The most famous symphony ever written, and justly one of the most admired, Beethoven’s Fifth celebrates victory over the forces of fate in an unforgettable journey from struggle and conflict to blazing affirmation. Even if you feel you already know all there is to know about this iconic piece, inspirational conductor Mark Wigglesworth is just the person to reveal new depths and splendours that might just make you think afresh.

Now an established international soloist following her BBC Young Musician win in 2012, brilliant British cellist Laura van der Heijden is the soloist in Shostakovich’s dark, dramatic and deeply cathartic Second Cello Concerto – a profoundly moving experience for all who hear it. The playful innocence of Britten’s Simple Symphony – based on tunes he’d composed as a young child – complete this concert of darkness and light.

Age Restriction

Under 16's must be accompanied by an adult 18+

Access Bookings

In order to book wheelchair spaces and disabled companion places please contact the box office by phoning 0131 228 1155 or by emailing