ADAMS The Chairman Dances
MACMILLAN Violin Concerto No 2 (World Premiere)*
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No 6 ‘Pathétique’

Maxim Emelyanychev Conductor
Nicola Benedetti Violin

Join Scottish superstar violinist Nicola Benedetti and Principal Conductor Maxim Emelyanychev to celebrate the launch of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra’s 2022-23 Season – in music of joyful wit, searing power and high emotion.

Nicola Benedetti gives the world premiere of the brand-new Violin Concerto No 2 by Scotland’s foremost composer, Sir James MacMillan. His long musical relationship with Benedetti forms the basis for this major new work, which showcases the violinist’s renowned technical agility and exquisite poetry.

Maxim Emelyanychev brings the concert to a cathartic conclusion with the raw emotions of the ‘Pathétique’ Symphony by Tchaikovsky, while US composer John Adams kicks things off with his witty evocation of Chairman Mao tripping a foxtrot.

*Commissioned by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Swedish Chamber Orchestra, the Adam Mickiewicz Institute and the Dallas Symphony Orchestra.

Age Restriction

Under 16's must be accompanied by an adult 18+

Access Bookings

In order to book wheelchair spaces and disabled companion places please contact the box office by phoning 0131 228 1155 or by emailing 

Sponsored by:

Quilter Cheviot logo