HANDEL Coronation Anthems: Zadok The Priest; The King Shall Rejoice
HANDEL Water Music Suite No 1 in F
HANDEL Music for the Royal Fireworks
HANDEL Ode for the Birthday of Queen Anne

Bernard Labadie Conductor
Lydia Teuscher Soprano
Iestyn Davies Countertenor
Neal Davies Bass Baritone
Peter Franks Trumpet
SCO Chorus
Gregory Batsleer Chorus Director

George Frideric Handel was a superstar composer in 18th-century London. But he saved his most extravagant offerings for royal occasions, creating music expressly conceived to impress and astonish.

Join distinguished Canadian conductor Bernard Labadie for some of Handel’s dazzling works designed to delight kings and queens, in the company of a starry line-up of international soloists and the choral might of the SCO Chorus.

The exuberant Water Music, written for George I to hear on the River Thames, and the glittering Music for the Royal Fireworks, created for a spectacular pyrotechnic display in 1749 to mark the end of war, are rightly two of Handel’s best-loved works.

The roof-raising choral glories of Zadok the Priest and The King Shall Rejoice – two of the four Coronation Anthems written for the accession of George II in 1727 – open and close the concert in lavish style, while the Ode for the Birthday of Queen Anne is a joyful anniversary celebration from 1713.

Kindly supported by The Usher Family

Age Restriction

Under 16's must be accompanied by an adult 18+

Access Bookings

In order to book wheelchair spaces and disabled companion places please contact the box office by phoning 0131 228 1155 or by emailing customer.enquiries@usherhall.co.uk