BRAHMS Violin Concerto in D
BRAHMS Symphony No 1 in C minor

Maxim Emelyanychev Conductor
Aylen Pritchin Violin

Bristling power, heartrending melodies, exquisite craftsmanship: not for nothing is Brahms commonly included alongside Bach and Beethoven in the triumvirate of German master composers. Join Maxim Emelyanychev for fresh perspectives on two of Brahms’ mightiest, most stirring and deeply moving masterpieces.

Violinist Aylen Pritchin has been making huge waves in the international scene with the purity and passion of his performances. A close colleague and collaborator with Emelyanychev, he brings a historically-informed slant to the graceful elegance and life-affirming lyricism of the Brahms Violin Concerto.

Emelyanychev closes the concert with Brahms Symphony No 1 – noble and majestic, but also mercurial and poetic. It took the composer decades to create, but it’s a work to match the achievements of Beethoven in a new age.

Age Restriction

Under 16's must be accompanied by an adult 18+

Access Bookings

In order to book wheelchair spaces and disabled companion places please contact the box office by phoning 0131 228 1155 or by emailing