Conductor Dennis Russell Davies
Soloist Laura van der Heijden (Cello)

Brno Philharmonic Orchestra

Vaughan Williams Thomas Tallis Fantasia
Martinů Cello Concerto No. 1 
Janáček Jealousy
Dvořak Symphony No. 9 New World 

The Czech city of Brno has a tremendous musical heritage and we’re delighted to welcome the Brno Philharmonic with a performance that includes Jealousy by Janáček, who was the founder of the Orchestra. 

Laura van der Heijden, one of the leading cellists of her generation, will perform Martinů’s Cello Concerto No. 1 and the concert concludes with Dvořak’s ever-popular ‘New World’ Symphony.

‘Laura van der Heijden… brought a virtuosic rhythmic vigour and achingly beautiful tenderness to the challenging solo part.’ Observer

Age Restriction

U16's must be accompanied by an adult 18+

Access Bookings

In order to book wheelchair spaces and disabled companion places please contact the Box Office by calling 0131 228 1155 or email