Conductor Olari Elts
Soloists Freddy Kempf (piano)

Estonian National Symphony Orchestra

Avro Pärt Benjamin Britten Cantus in Memoriam  
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 1  
Dvorak Symphony No. 9 New World

The Estonian National Symphony, led by Olari Elts, provide the finale to our Sunday Classics season. A varied programme includes the work by Estonian composer Avro Pärt, a gesture recognising the connection between Britain and Estonia. The concert opens with a moving tribute to Benjamin Britten - Pärt greatly admired Britten, who he described as possessing an ‘unusual purity’, which he himself sought. 

Before the interval, star pianist Freddy Kempf will treat us to an impassioned performance of Rachmaninov’s first piano concerto, followed by Dvořak’s ever-popular ‘New World’ Symphony.

‘Kempf is a pianist in a million.’ The Arts Desk

Age Restriction

U16's must be accompanied by an adult 18+

Access Bookings

In order to book wheelchair spaces and disabled companion places please contact the Box Office by calling 0131 228 1155 or email