Conductor Sergey Smbatyan

Soloist Maxim Vengerov (Violin) 

Malta Philharmonic Orchestra

Alexey Shor Seascapes for Violin and Symphony Orchestra
Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 1 
Rachmaninov Symphony No. 2 

Maxim Vengerov, one of the world’s greatest violinists, joins Malta Philharmonic Orchestra in not one, but two concertos – composed a century apart.

Radiant one minute, savage the next, Sergei Prokofiev’s First Violin Concerto captures the urgency of its times, written during the First World War as Russia descended into Revolution. The orchestra, with its Principal Conductor Sergey Smabtyan at the helm, also performs Alexey Shor’s romantic Seascapes for Violin and Symphony Orchestra. The afternoon ends with Rachmaninov’s sweeping Second Symphony, one of the most popular symphonies ever written.

‘Technically, it was an astounding combination of balance, poise….Emotionally, it drew me deep inside myself to places I hadn’t expected to go.’ Bachtrack on Vengerov


The concert is organised together with the European Foundation for Support of Culture (

Age Restriction

U16's must be accompanied by an adult 18+

Access Bookings

In order to book wheelchair spaces and disabled companion places please contact the Box Office by calling 0131 228 1155 or email