Imagine this. An explosive & unstoppable emotional force, emanating from over 70 awe-inspiring musicians.  

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 24 K.491 (c.31 mins)  
Britten Suite on English Folk Tunes – ‘A time there was…’ (c.14 mins)  
Vaughan Williams Symphony No.4 (c.33 mins)  

Ryan Wigglesworth Piano/Conductor  

Vaughan Williams didn’t like to talk about the inspiration for his Fourth Symphony, and he didn’t need to, because the music speaks louder than any words. Raw, explosive and driven by unstoppable emotional force, this is music on the edge, written as Europe fell under the shadow of war. Not what you expected from Vaughan Williams? Well, Chief Conductor Ryan Wigglesworth loves to find unexpected connections and tell compelling musical stories. In a concert that begins with Mozart’s darkest and most dramatic piano concerto (with Wigglesworth directing from the keyboard, just as Mozart would have done) and includes the haunted beauty of Britten’s folksong suite, he’ll do just that.

Age Restriction

Under 16's must be accompanied by an adult 18+

Access Bookings

In order to book wheelchair spaces and disabled companion places please contact the Box Office by calling 0131 228 1155 or email