Ellington Black and Tan Fantasy

Grieg arr. Ellington Morning Mood from Peer Gynt Suite

Bernstein arr. Florian Ross West Side Story Suite

Gershwin arr. Tommy Smith Rhapsody in Blue (Extended version)

Herrmann Suite from Vertigo

Bernstein Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

Bertie Baigent Conductor

Makoto Ozone Piano

Royal Scottish National Orchestra

Scottish National Jazz Orchestra

Bluesy piano, wailing clarinets: no composers defined a city like Duke Ellington and George Gershwin defined Manhattan. They come to you in full symphonic sound, as the RSNO joins forces with pianist Makoto Ozone and the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra in a special arrangement of Gershwin’s intoxicating Rhapsody in Blue, before flying to San Francisco in a classic Hitchcock film score and prowling the urban jungle of West Side Story. Big cities, big tunes – and you’d better believe it’s going to swing.