PROKOFIEV Symphony No 1 ‘Classical’    
PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No 2    
BRAHMS Symphony No 2

Maxim Emelyanychev Conductor
Aylen Pritchin Violin

Darkly lyrical and bristling with devilish energy, Prokofiev’s Second Violin Concerto is the ideal musical match for the exceptional talents of violinist Aylen Pritchin – a close musical collaborator and friend of conductor Maxim Emelyanychev – who so impressed SCO audiences with his Brahms Concerto in 2023.

Maxim bookends the concert with two very different symphonies. Prokofiev’s charming and compact First earned its ‘Classical’ nickname through its affectionate tributes to the wit and sparkle of Haydn. Brahms’ Second, on the other hand, is one of the composer’s richest, sunniest works, overflowing with rich harmonies.

Kindly supported by Anne, Tom and Natalie Usher

Age Restriction

Under 16's must be accompanied by an adult 18+

Access Bookings

Please contact the box office on 0131 228 1155 or by emailing in order to book wheelchair spaces and disabled companion places.