Director Daniel Bard
Soloist Angela Hewitt

Basel Chamber Orchestra

Vaughan Williams Thomas Tallis Fantasia 

Holliger Eisblumen (Ice Flowers)

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 14 K449 


Shostakovich Chamber Symphony 

Bach Piano concerto in D minor (23 mins)

Please note the running order above has been rearranged - the music remains the same as previously advertised (29/09/23)

As the first orchestra to be awarded the Swiss Music Prize in 2019, the Basel Chamber Orchestra stands out for its excellence and diversity as well as for its depth and consistency. Angela Hewitt has become a great favourite of the Zurich International Series’ audience and we’re delighted to have her play and direct the Basel Chamber Orchestra in two concerto masterpieces – Mozart’s lyrical E-flat Piano Concerto and Bach’s pulsating D-minor Piano Concerto.

The concert will also include the orchestration of Shostakovich’s searing String Quartet No. 8, which is now frequently performed as his Chamber Symphony, and Vaughan Williams’ ever-popular Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis.

Download Your Digital Programme Here

Age Restriction

U16's must be accompanied by an adult 18+

Access Bookings

In order to book wheelchair spaces and disabled companion places please contact the Box Office by calling 0131 228 1155 or email