Conductor Steven Mercurio
Soloist Mark Bebbington (piano)

Czech National Symphony Orchestra

Copland Appalachian Spring
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5 
Smetana Bartered Bride
Dvořák Symphony No. 7

We’re very pleased to be presenting again our old friends the Czech National Symphony Orchestra. Their American Music Director Steven Mercurio will begin the concert with Copland’s delightful portrait of the Appalachian countryside.

After this, the acclaimed pianist Mark Bebbington will play Beethoven’s grand ‘Emperor’ Concerto and in the second half the Orchestra will perform two much-loved Czech favourites – Smetana’s Bartered Bride and Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7, in authentic and inimitable Czech style.

What better way to spend a Sunday afternoon than by listening to classical music in the heart of Edinburgh?

‘…the lava tumbles out with astonishing force from Mark Bebbington, who plays with tremendous authority…’ BBC Music Magazine