Conductor Alpesh Chauhan
Soloists Zakir Hussain (tabla)
               Niladri Kumar (sitar)
               Rakesh Chaurasia (bansuri)

Symphony Orchestra of India

Strauss Rosenkavalier Suite
Hussain Triple Concerto
Stravinsky Petrushka

We are very pleased to welcome back for our Sunday Classics season, after their last visit in 2019, the Symphony Orchestra of India. This concert will be conducted by the brilliant young British conductor Alpesh Chauhan, of Indian descent.

The concert begins with a suite of orchestral music from Richard Strauss’ opulent opera ‘Rosenkavalier’ and the concert will end with one of the great 20th-century masterpieces by Stravinsky with its surging rhythms and vivid colours, Petrushka.

Download Digital Programme

The concert will also feature perhaps the greatest musician in the Indian classical tradition, the tabla player Zakir Hussain. With his trio he will perform a work commissioned especially for this tour, his exciting Triple Concerto.

‘One was left in no doubt about the impact of this symphony. It was a staggering performance… Chauhan is a phenomenal talent…’ In Daily

Supported by the Scottish Indian Arts Forum (SIAF)