Escape into drama and epic emotions

Copland Fanfare for the Common Man
Chopin Piano Concerto No.2 
Dvořák Symphony No.9 ‘From the New World’   

Ethan David Loch  piano
Michael Sanderling conductor

Big sounds and tender feelings. Copland’s Fanfare for the Common Man is one of those pieces that you know without realising you know it – pure optimism from wartime America, wrought from great shining beams of brass and percussion. The young Chopin wasn’t short of confidence either, and his gloriously dreamy Second Piano Concerto has to be one of the most exquisite love letters ever penned by a young genius to his sweetheart. BBC Young Musician 2022 finalist Ethan David Loch is the soloist this evening; his energy and imagination make him the perfect partner for guest conductor Michael Sanderling. Expect freshness, fire – and a few surprises too – when Sanderling conducts Dvořák’s much-loved symphony 'from the New World'.